Databases
Use our subject databases to search for full-text articles and ebooks to help with your work and research
Databases are better for more precise subject-focussed searching than Discovery. We’ve made a series videos to guide you through the process of searching a database, which you can find below.
Scroll further down the page for our guide to our databases by subject, with links to each one and a brief description of the type of content you will find.
Our databases are grouped as follows: psychology, social care and sociology, education, medical and general.
Help with searching
Basic literature search on a database
Complex search on a database
Psychology databases
PsycInfo
Coverage includes clinical psychology, family therapy, psychotherapy, forensic psychology, psychoanalysis, psychiatry, organisational psychology, and related fields. Via EBSCOhost. Shibboleth login required
PEP Archive
Full text of the key psychoanalytic journals, some dating back to 1920. Full-text of The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, and other classic books. Via EBSCOhost. Shibboleth login required
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Full-text access to key journals in psychology, behavioural sciences and related disciplines. Via EBSCOhost. Shibboleth login required
PsycArticles
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Educational Publishing Foundation and other associated publishers. Via EBSCOhost. Shibboleth login required
PsycExtra
Combines bibliographic records with unique full-text materials, offering conference presentations, newsletters, reports, fact sheets, magazines, monographs and other material sometimes described as ‘grey literature’. Via EBSCOhost. Shibboleth login required
Social care and sociology databases
SocINDEX
SocINDEX is a comprehensive sociology research database. Provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. Via EBSCOhost. Shibboleth login required
Social Care Online
Provided by the Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE). Covers information on all aspects of social work and social care, including legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, and more. No password required
Social Care TV
Films on social and health care issues commissioned and produced by the Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE). Also lists links to other resources, government policy and related organisations. No password required
UK Data Archive
Collection of high quality social sciences and humanities datasets from UK academic, public, and commercial sectors. No password required but you may be required to register with the UK Data Archive site to access some information
Education databases
Education Source
Includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. All levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Via EBSCOhost. Shibboleth login required
ERIC
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. Contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Via EBSCOhost. Shibboleth login required
Medical databases
BioMed Central
Publishes peer-reviewed open access journals in the fields of science, technology and medicine, including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, plus more specialist journals such as BMC Psychiatry and Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health. No password required
British National Formulary (BNF)
Designed as a digest for rapid reference and may not always include all the information necessary for prescribing and dispensing. BNF for Children should be consulted for detailed information on the use of medicines in children. The BNF should be interpreted in the light of professional knowledge and supplemented as necessary by specialised publications and by reference to product literature. No password required
BNF for Children
BNF for Children has been constructed using robust procedures for gathering, assessing and assimilating information on paediatric drug treatment, but may not always include all the information necessary for prescribing and dispensing. It is expected the reader will be relying on appropriate professional knowledge and expertise, plus other up-to-date literature and advice, to interpret the contents in the context of the circumstances of the individual child. No password required
CINAHL
CINAHL is a comprehensive bibliographic database of nursing and allied health resources, with around 3600 journals. More than 300 new subject headings have been added to CINAHL to help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping, as well as new local terminology. Via EBSCOhost. Shibboleth login required
MEDLINE
MEDLINE is a key biomedical database produced by the National Library of Medicine. Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Via EBSCOhost. Shibboleth login required
ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection
ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of healthcare journals, evidence-based resources and full-text dissertations. Gives access to more than 5000 full-text journals. Shibboleth login required
PubMed
A free search engine for biomedical literature which searches MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Database doesn’t require a password to use, but citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites that do require a login and may not be accessible by our library subscriptions
TRIP
TRIP is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence clinicians can search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news. To access all the features of TRIP, you’ll need to use an NHS device or network
General databases
CORE
CORE hosts the world’s largest collection of open access full texts, from thousands of institutional repositories and journals. No password required
Digital Transgender Archive
Online hub for transgender history including digitised materials, born-digital content and information on archival holdings throughout the world. No password required
UK Statute Law Database
The official database of new and revised primary legislation of the United Kingdom. No password required