Databases by subject

  • Find articles on PsycINFO and PEP Archive

  • Full-text on SocINDEX and Education Source

  • Click headings below for databases by subject

Want to search all our databases at the same time?
Try Discovery!

Psychology

All Psychology databases require your Shibboleth/Institutional Password except Autism Data

PsycINFO (via EBSCOhost)

  • The most comprehensive database for psychology and related disciplines
  • Coverage includes clinical psychology, family therapy, psychotherapy, forensic psychology, general psychology, psychoanalysis, psychiatry, psychotherapy, organisational psychology, and related fields.
  • Full text links to many journals and ebooks


The Pep Archive (via EBSCOhost) 

  • full text of the key psychoanalytic journals some dating back to 1920.
  • full-text of The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, and other classic psychoanalytic books.
  • updated annually
  • click here for help with accessing book chapters on PEP Archive


Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (via EBSCOhost)

  • full-text access to key journals in psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines


PsycArticles (via EBSCOhost)

  • full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Educational Publishing Foundation and other associated publishers


PsycBOOKS (via EBSCOhost)

  • fulltext access to books published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and a number of other publishers.
  • includes classic books of historical significance in psychology dating from the 1600s.
  • exclusive electronic release of the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.


Autism Data

  • the online catalogue for The National Autistic Society’s reference library in its London office research papers, books, articles, videos and other materials on autism, Aspergers syndrome and related subjects

Sociology and Social Care

SocINDEX with Full Text (via EBSCOhost)
SocIndex is a comprehensive sociology research database. It provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.

UK Data Archive  No password required.
The UK Data Archive is a collection of high quality social sciences and humanities datasets from UK academic, public, and commercial sectors . You may be required to register with the UK Data Archive site to access some information.


Social Care Online
   No password required
Social Care Online is a provided by the Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) and covers information on all aspects of social work and social care, including legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, and more.


Social Care TV
   No password required
Social Care TV hosts films on current social and health care issues which have been commissioned and produced by the Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE). In the films service users and their families share their experiences, and professionals provide comment on their area of expertise. It introduces key care and support issues for adults’, children’s and families’ Also listed are links to other useful resources, government policy and related organisations

Education

Education Source (via EBSCOhost)
Includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

ERIC  (via EBSCOhost)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

Medical

TRIP
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Their motto is ‘Find evidence fast’. As well as research evidence  clinicians can search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news. To get access to all the features of TRIP, you’ll need to use an NHS device or network.

ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection Shibboleth/Institutional Password required
ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of health care journals, evidence-based resources, full-text dissertations. Gives access to 5000+ full-text journals from following databases:

  • Health & Medical Collection
  • Nursing & Allied Health Database
  • Health Management Database
  • Psychology Database
  • Public Health Database
  • Family Health Database
  • MEDLINE

Medline (via EBSCOhost) Shibboleth/Institutional Password required
MEDLINE is a key biomedical database produced by the National Library of Medicine, It provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more


Pub
Med No password required
Pubmed is a free search engine for biomedical literature which searches MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites


BioMed Central
   No password required 
Publishes peer-reviewed open access journals in the fields of science, technology and medicine


CINAHL Index (via EBSCOhost)  Shibboleth/Institutional Password required
CINAHL is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of nursing and allied health resources, indexing around 3,000 journals

British National Formulary

The BNF is designed as a digest for rapid reference and it may not always include all the information necessary for prescribing and dispensing. Also, less detail is given on areas such as obstetrics, malignant disease, and anaesthesia since it is expected that those undertaking treatment will have specialist knowledge and access to specialist literature. BNF for Children should be consulted for detailed information on the use of medicines in children. The BNF should be interpreted in the light of professional knowledge and supplemented as necessary by specialised publications and by reference to the product literature.

British National Formulary for Children

BNF for Children has been constructed using robust procedures for gathering, assessing and assimilating information on paediatric drug treatment, but may not always include all the information necessary for prescribing and dispensing. It is expected that the reader will be relying on appropriate professional knowledge and expertise to interpret the contents in the context of the circumstances of the individual child. BNF for Children should be used in conjunction with other appropriate and up-to-date literature and, where necessary, supplemented by expert advice.

General


The UK Statute Law Database
 – the official database of new and revised primary legislation of the United Kingdom. No password required

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
The Tavistock and Portman